Becoming A Unicorn: Nine Steps To Go From Dirty Blonde To Purple /Pink Ombre Hair

by taffybeauty

My computer has been dangerously low on memory 😦 of course. So until I plug in the external hard drive and transfer some files and ask my brother to help me upgrade my memory I’m taking it easy with the blogging. But I had to show y’all my new hair. I’ve love Cora’s hair color which are layers of beautiful ultra-violet blueish purple, pink, and dark almost black colors. I wanted to do something with purple and pink. An ombre meets dip dye effect. I think it’s turned out quite well. I went to the SFIEC to get this done and cost me $61 (not including tip). It took 4 hours 15 minutes. I will say they were rushing a bit towards the end so the bottom hairs at the nape of my neck are more blueberry than purple and there are some streaks where they didn’t get color so my hair is just bleached. Most importantly on my right side the pink goes up to the top of my ear but on my left side the pink is just the bottom half inch or inch. It was supposed to be like the left but the helper working on the right was a little too sloppy. Normal people can’t really tell but I can and the whites make me look grey so I will be scheduling a time for them to fix it. The worst news was when I was told, after the bleaching was done, that the colors are only semi-permanent. I know most bright non-traditional colors aren’t permanent but I was thinking a professional salon would have permanent colors. I’ve heard good things about Special Effects. In the future I will be coloring my hair on my own but I wanted to watch them the first time.

So here are the pictures and my steps to getting this hair color/look. Happy holidays and happy new year to my lovely readers.

STEP 1 – FOILS / BLEACHING / “LIGHTENING”

Bleach hair where color will be applied to insure that color will be vibrant.

Step1_Foils

  Step1_Bleach

STEP 2 – APPLY COLOR

After washing out the “lightener” as they call it, toning the hair, washing again, and blow drying, apply color where you want it. I wanted purple ombre type hair so I’d still have roots then pink tips at the very end. So they applied the purple color to my hair that was bleached and the pink at the ends. As I stated above I had two different people working on me at this point and the helper brought the pink a little too high up. Also, the purple at the nape of my neck on that side is more blueberry. Lastly, they missed a few spots of hair so I have some hair that is white. Therefore, I will have them fix this when the holidays are over and they’re open again.

Step2_Color

STEP 3 – WASH OUT COLOR AND (TRY TO) ACCEPT REALITY

Ok, I love the color. So vibrant. And awesome. This color is great. But I didn’t really want the top layer of hair colored but it still looks good. I told them I wanted the color on the under layers but it’s still great. But kinda looks like I have roots. But I never know how I feel til I get home and this looks good. I also haven’t eaten all day and sat in this chair for over 4 hours, I just want to leave.

Step3_AcceptReaity

roots:

Step3_AcceptReaityRoots

STEP 4 – REGRETS

After every haircut or color I always end-up thinking the following:

  • “Oh no, what did I do? What was I thinking?”
  • “Fudge. Fudge. Fudge.”
  • “This is horrible. I hate it. I have to go in public like this. Why don’t I keep sheers at home?”
  • As Joey would say, “Why God, WHY!?! Why are you doing this to us me?”
  • And, inevitably, “I look like a boy.”

Step4_Regrets

STEP 5 – SLEEP WITH A TOWEL

I was instructed not to wash my hair for three days and that water will cause my color to run (good weekend for a rain storm) and it will rub off on fabrics at first. So I decided to protect my pillow as much as possible by using a pillowcase that isn’t the best looking and using a towel on top of that.

Step5_Sleep

STEP 6 – MAKE IT WORK/DON’T GIVE UP

Ok, it can’t be that bad if you don’t have nightmares about it. Normally I like to have lots of texture to my hair and normally I sleep with wet hair that has been twisted. Maybe it’ll look better that way. It really can’t be that bad. You’re Kathleen, you can rock anything. So let’s not give up just yet.

STEP 7 – CURL THAT HAIR

Since I can’t wash or wet my hair for three days, I’ll do the next best thing – curl my hair with a clipless curling iron (the only curling iron I have).

Step7_Curls2

Step7_Curls3

Step7_Curls4

STEP 8 – LOOSEN THOSE RINGLETS & FALL IN ♥

Gently using my fingers I loosened the ringlets to get more texture and, most importantly, more volume. This is when I realized I absolutely loved the color.

Step8_Curls1

Step8_Curls2

Step8_Curls3

Step8_Curls4

Step8_Curls5

Step8_Curls6

STEP 9 – TAKE SILLY PICTURES

Step9_Arm

Step9_Arrrgggg

Step9_Eyes

Step9_Smile

Step9_Smile2

I am VERY happy with the way this has turned out. I can’t wait to see how my bosses feel about it and all the people in the Financial District where I work but comeon, it’s not like I’m doing drugs or am all punk-y. It’s just some purple and pink hair.

A wink & a smile,

Taffy Beauty

